Books, Uncategorized

My Own Little Library

Before we start I would just like to point out that AbeBooks has a 50% sale on a range of their books until the 27th June, grab yourself a used perfect condition classic before the sale ends. AbeBooks are a website that sell used, signed, new and rare books for next to nothing. This is my go to site for my English course, in fact I have a couple of books on the way from them, which I will mention later on in this post.

Give them a quick visit, it can’t hurt just to look. Just don’t break the bank when you see all the books you could own. It’s heaven for book lovers.

www.abebooks.co.ukHUTU

Now, on to my current library. One of the books I’m so excited to read is Jennifer Niven’s Holding Up the Universe. It’s one of those books that you see all over the internet through book lovers like myself, in fact I was reccomended it by another book blogger. It’s just sitting pretty on my bookshelf until summer when I finally get a break from college and all the work that keeps flooding in.  Jennifer Niven’s book has been nominated for  Goodreads Choice Awards Best Young Adult Fiction, this is amazing based on the ATBPfact she is a very new author.

 

Jennifer Niven’s first book is also on my reading list for the summer. All the Bright Places Niven’s first published story from 2015 is also on my list of escapes for this summer, after working all day I fully intend to relax in the evening outside with my books and a cup of tea- or if I feel adventurous maybe a bottle of wine. I’m so excited to jump into the world created by Jennifer, she is a completely new author to me. I’m so eager to start reading I actually have a countdown going until the end of term.

To be honest, I should probably finish The Colour Purple first. But it’s a really hard read, the language and the events. Written from the perspective of an uneducated African American female so the language is hard, the words are spelt wrong and the order s quite confusing. There is no way of telling the time which makes it difficult to judge the progression the story. The Colour Purple blogis about life of African-American women in the southern United States in the 1930s, it talks about their treatment and welfare within a society where they are lower in status than most.

I however, have just finished Transgressions by Sarah Dunant. This describes a woman, Elizabeth, who is a sexually free spirit becoming the target of some unwanted attention when translating a Czech book into English. When she comes face to face with her tormentor, the real haunting begins. This thriller grips you thoroughly, if you love the woman empowerment novels this is definitely the book for you. However I will say that it isn’t for the faint hearted, if you have an aversion to ghostly goings on, mentions of the supernatural and sexual assault then please find another book. I am responsible for my own nightmares, honestly I don’t want to be responsible for yours too.

Even more excitingly I have two books on the way to me right now. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins and Wuthering Height Charlotte Bronte. This is particularly for my English coursework, I’m going to be writing about vulnerability and feminism by the way. If anyone has anything of interest that would help me with this, please email me- I will take any help I can get (I’m kind of thick when it comes to this stuff- not sure why I picked English).

Anyway, I’ll let you know how they all pan out when I’ve finished them. I hope the heat is treating you well, try reading in the shade and having smoothies at the same time- brilliant at this time of year. I am loving smoothies currently, mango smoothies and books are the only thing keeping me going in this weather. In case you haven’t realised I am incredibly British and can not stand the heat without whining about it. Have fun and if you find anything interesting, please let me know.

Sprinkle some sparkle into your life

Thank you

Spacing Sparkle xox

 

Leave a Reply

